Pursuit (SM45, SSM211, WEB112, ASM389)
As I noted in my last post , the Pursuit storyline is all about Spider-Man being out for revenge. He’s officially endured enough bullshit and has totally snapped. Even the villains he fights during the Pursuit storyline are taken aback at Spider-Man’s lack of wisecracks and the radical shift from his overall nimblybimbly dogoodery fighting style. Now that Spider-Man is totally pissed off, he is hunting down his enemies while screaming death threats at them. Sweet Jesus! This never would have happened in the Golden Age. I think it’s a Spider-Man that we’ve always wanted to see, probably out of morbid curiosity if nothing else. Spider-Man is so dark and violent, he's just a couple extra pouches on his costume away from being in Image comics (cheap shot!). Things are full throttle as we watch Spider-Man smash straight through all of the Chameleon’s tricks and traps rather than have to struggle through and think his way out of each sticky situation. No solving puzzles or...